Select a page

Direct authenticated access, desired by FinTechs, is officially recognized by the level II acts of the DSP 2

March 6, 2018 | Press Releases

After more than two years of negotiations between traditional banks and Fintechs, the technical standards of the Payment Services Directive (DSP2) relating to strong authentication and communication standards have been officially validated.

France End this decision of the European authorities.

The latest negotiations around the level II acts of the DSP2 (RTS - Regulatory Technical Standards) have shown the determination of European fintechs to obtain secure technical standards that guarantee innovation.

The recently validated standards materialize the major advances of the PSD2 for:

 establish balanced competition on the European payments and financial services market, allowing Fintechs to be technologically independent from banks and limiting any hyper-control over new entrants;
 place consumers at the heart of the process control of their personal data, thus respecting the initial spirit of the PSD2 and the General Data Protection Regulation;
 support fintech innovation in Europe, in order to create the digital champions of tomorrow;
 create a new favorable climate for European fintechs, with the help of a regulatory framework conducive to their development. And in particular as regards the programming interfaces (API) which will have to be adopted by the market to validate their quality and performances.

« If today's rules are limited to payment accounts, the French and European Fintech is convinced that the innovations of the PSD2 should apply to all the accounts of Europeans to give them real power over the management of their finances. personal ... it is the meaning of history, it is the meaning of digital innovation, it is the wish of consumers ... »Declares Alain Clot, President of France FinTech.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

L’accès direct authentifié, souhaité par les Fintechs, est officiellement reconnu par les actes de niveau II de la DSP 2

Après plus de deux ans de tractations qui ont vu s’opposer les banques traditionnelles et les Fintechs, les standards techniques de la Directive sur les services de paiement (DSP2) relatifs à l’authentification forte et aux normes de communication ont été validés officiellement.

France Fin cette décision des instances européennes.

Les dernières négociations autour des actes de niveau II de la DSP2 (RTS – Regulatory Technical Standards) ont montré la détermination des Fintechs européennes à obtenir des normes techniques sécurisées qui garantissent l’innovation.

Les standards récemment validés concrétisent les avancées majeures de la DSP2 pour :

établir une concurrence équilibrée sur le marché européen des paiements et des services financiers, permettant aux Fintechs d’être technologiquement indépendantes des banques et limitant un éventuel hyper-contrôle sur les nouveaux entrants ;
placer les consommateurs au coeur du processus de contrôle de leurs données personnelles, respectant ainsi l’esprit initial de la DSP2 et du Règlement général sur la protection des données ;
soutenir l’innovation Fintech en Europe, afin de créer les champions numériques de demain ;
instituer un nouveau climat favorable aux Fintechs européennes, à l’aide d’un cadre réglementaire propice à leur développement. Et notamment en ce qui concerne les interfaces de programmations (API) qui devront être adoptées par le marché pour valider leur qualité et performances.

« Si les règles d’aujourd’hui se limitent aux comptes de paiement, la Fintech française et européenne est convaincue que les innovations de la DSP2 devraient s’appliquer à tous les comptes des Européens pour leur donner un vrai pouvoir sur la gestion de leur finance personnelle … c’est le sens de l’histoire, c’est le sens de l’innovation numérique, c’est le souhait des consommateurs … » déclare Alain Clot, Président de France FinTech.